skip navigation

Winter Sport Information

By Admin, 10/21/20, 1:30PM CDT

Share

Currently, per the Governor's orders, winter sports are on pause. We will update starting dates and other information as soon as we have start dates for our athletics and activities. 

The MSHSL has given the green light for winter sports.  As we create schedules and gather more information, we will add to this article. Please be aware that this will not be a regular season- the start dates have changed, the amount of competitions will be less and there will be limited fans in attendance. 

Start Dates:

     11/9- Dance

     11/23- Boys Hockey, Boys Basketball

     11/30- Wrestling, Boys Swim & Dive, Girls Hockey

     12/7- Girls Basketball

 

Registration: 

Is still open -  please follow the full registration instructions. Under the registration tab, select Athletic Link and follow it step by step. You will be charged the full amount and need to have a sports physical on file before you are cleared. Those on free or reduced lunch may contact us for assistance. 

 

Physicals: 

A sports physical is required for participation. If you do not have a physical on file at all, one will need to be turned in before you are cleared to participate. Due to COVID, we are extending our physical expiration date for the 20-21 school year. Physicals from 2017, 2018, 2019, and 2020 will all be valid this year. However, please be aware that for the 21-22 school year, both 2017 and 2018 will expire. Sports physical forms are available at www.shakopeesabers.com/forms. Once completed, forms can be uploaded into the registration or turned in to the activities office via email (haltringer@shakopee.k12.mn.us) or in person. 

 

Masks & Water Bottles: 

ALL athletes should have their own mask with them at all times and their own water bottle with them at all times. Masks MUST be worn when indoors and not on the playing surface. Water bottles should be filled at home and never shared. There will be no water jugs provided by the athletic trainer this year in order to reduce the rate of transmission. 

 

Spectators: 

As of right now, the Minnesota Department of Education is requesting that only TWO spectators per athlete be allowed into a public school setting for a game or meet. This means that for any games or meets taking place inside of any Shakopee Public School Building, there will be two fans per player allowed in attendance. Once teams and schedules are set, we will connect with parents to set the guidelines of how fan attendance will work. 

 

Contact Info:

Activities Office:

Director- Matt Hanson (mhanson@shakopee.k12.mn.us)

Assistant- Crissy Shoemaker (cshoemak@shakopee.k12.mn.us)

Office Assistant- Haley Altringer (haltringer@shakopee.k12.mn.us)

 

Winter Coaches:

Boys Basketball- Jake Dammann (jdammann@shakopee.k12.mn.us)

Girls Basketball- Juan Mitchell (jmitchil@shakopee.k12.mn.us)

Boys Hockey- Calvin Simon (calvinthecoach@gmail.com)

Girls Hockey- Erin Hunt (ehunt@shakopee.k12.mn.us)

Dance- Sam Sayer (ssayer@shakopee.k12.mn.us)

Boys Swim & Dive- Eric Hills (ehills@shakopee.k12.mn.us)

Wrestling- Marcus LeVesseur (mklevesseur@gmail.com)

Cheer- Kirsten Palkert (kpalkert@shakopee.k12.mn.us)

Alpine/ Nordic Ski- co op with Burnsville High School

 

Thank you for your time and understanding. We know this fall is very out of the ordinary and we appreciate your willingness to be patient with us. Please reach out if you have any questions.